Awami League

Sheikh Hasina re-elected

The ruling party has reappointed Sheikh Hasina as president and the new general secretary will be Obaidul Quader

Drawing a conclusion to the two days of comradeship between party members at the 20th National Council, which ends today at the Institute of Engineers, Bangladesh in Dhaka, the Awami League re-elected Sheikh Hasina as the leader of the party for the next three years.

Her name was proposed as president by Syeda Sazeda Chowdhury and the election commissioner Yousuf Hossain Humayun declared her as the whole party felt she should continue as president.

Obaidul Quader was nominated by Syed Ashraful Islam, who served as general secretary for two terms, and was seconded by Jahangir Kabir Nanak.

The policymaking body of presidium members include former general secretary Syed Ashraf, other new inclusions include Abdur Razzak, Abdul Mannan Khan, Faruk Khan, Nurul Islam Nahid, Ramesh Chandra Sen and Pijush Bhattacharya. Members that will continue in the Presidium include Kazi Zafarullah, Mohammad Nasim, Matia Chowdhury, Mosharraf Hossain, Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim and Sahara Khatun.

Abdur Rahman joins Dipu Moni, Jahangir Kabir Nanak and Mahbub-Ul Alam Hanif as secretaries general.

Earlier today Dr. Abdur Razzak, convener of constitution sub-committee of the council, presented amendments to the party constitution which was passed by the councilors. As per the amendment, the size of national committee will be 180 in place of the existing 170.

Popular Posts

To Top